Skip to content

Eating under pressure.

April 4, 2011

Saturday was a super busy day for me, FULL of opportunities to cheat on my Weight Watchers plan. I was spending most of the day at my mom’s helping her out around the house, followed by my friend Chrissy’s boys’ birthday party, followed by a long night of babysitting. Helping at mom’s wouldn’t have been so bad if she didn’t want to go out to lunch too…

So I get the menu and start perusing the salads… but I really don’t want a salad. I really want a BLT. So I start adding up the points and realize that a BLT on wheat bread with very, very little mayo (I asked for it light and they took me seriously!) is only 11 points:

Add to that my small side salad with fat free ranch and lunch clocked in at 14 points. Not that bad for a girl who has 37 to play with in a day!

Next was the birthday party and thank gawd for Chrissy’s fruit skewers. I ate three (ok, seven) of them. So, it amounted to what would have been a very large bowl of fruit salad (pineapple, cantaloupe, and strawberries… YUM!) and knowing I could eat those without counting was great! It made it a lot easier to avoid the chips and really yummy looking corn salsa. I asked Chrissy a few days before the party about the menu and knew there would be chicken nuggets from Chik-fila, so I planned ahead that I could eat 6 of those. And OF COURSE I wasn’t going to skip birthday cake. I mean, really…

Do you know what’s amazing about the internets? You can find anything you need to know. Like, for example, the fat, fiber, protein, and carbs in a BJ’s yellow sheet cake with white whipped frosting and chocolate mousse filling. Seriously, I love the internet.

I really hate guessing on WW… the more exact the point count, the better. So I loved being able to put in the actual nutrition facts instead of just choosing generic “cake” in my etools.

So the hardest two parts of my day were over with only babysitting left to go. Fortunately when I got there, munchkin had already eaten dinner. Hooray! That means no string cheese or chicken nuggets or pizza or hamburger to tempt me. I had packed a fiber one bar, pretzels, and an orange, so when I got a snack craving after the kids went to bed, I was covered without raiding their cabinets that were no doubt full of things tastier than my orange 🙂

At the end of the day… I had eaten exactly 37 points. I could NOT believe that on such a tough day for temptations I was able to come in exactly on target. Unreal. That felt pretty freaking awesome.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 6, 2011 11:34 am

    congrats on resisting temptations and sticking to your plan!

Leave a Reply

