Skip to content

C25K Week 3

March 30, 2011

This is what Couch to 5k week 3 day 1 looks like. Not too bad… two 90 second runs and two three-minute runs. Running for three minutes is definitely a challenge. I can do it, I just find myself looking at the timer a lot more often.

 

What do you mean it’s only been fifteen seconds since the last time I looked at my phone?!? haha! But it’s worth it for that awesome accomplished feeling I have when it’s all over.

 

 

 

And this is what Couch to 5k week 3 day 2 looks like. I felt extremely sluggish today and really wasn’t up for this. But I have so much determination in me right now, there was no way I was going to skip the workout. I just wasn’t as psyched about it as I could have been. I got a killer side cramp in the LAST minute of the LAST jog and I just had to stop. It was that bad. But I made up for it by running one minute of the next walk segment once the cramp subsided. I didn’t want to cheat myself!

 

So here’s what I can’t figure out… just two days ago Nike+ said my best mile was 12:53. Today? 12:32. I’m not really sure how I shaved 20 seconds off my best mile when I wasn’t trying. And I wasn’t running the whole time. Hmmmm. I’ve read on some forums about a Nike+ glitch where it only counts your first mile as the best mile. Which means my best may be faster since the first mile always includes the warm-up. I’m not really sure.

I feel silly even talking about a 12 minute mile being an accomplishment. I read other runner’s blogs and they talk about their 7 and 8 minute miles and it blows my mind. I don’t know that I will ever be there. Or that I ever want to put in the work that it will take to GET there! I like to think of running as just one part of my physical fitness plan… which brings me to a promise. I PROMISE all of my posts will not be C25k updates. I do have other things to write about! A whole list, actually.

Maybe I’ll get to that tomorrow 🙂

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

