Skip to content

35 days

March 25, 2011

That’s how long until my next 5k. I got up off the couch this morning (going into work late today) and dusted off the treadmill. I decided to revisit my Couch to 5k iphone app:

I really love this app! It makes the C25k program so easy… I can’t imagine trying to do it on my own with a stopwatch or something. It talks to you so you can concentrate on what you’re doing and just listen for the cues. So this is probably my 3rd (?) time restarting the program. Last time I think I got to week 6. So I reset everything and started with week 2, day 1. I was actually SHOCKED at how good I felt. I hit a little wall at the halfway mark when I realized I was …halfway! lol, I thought I was almost done till I looked at the phone. I got over it though and kept going. I covered 1.7 miles in 30 minutes with a walk/job combo. Apparently the connection between my sensor and the Nike+ in my phone was lost at one point, because it has my stats for today all wrong:

 

 

 

The clock on the Nike+ was running the whole time, so it’s not like I turned it off accidentally. I’m going to consider it a fluke until my next run and I’ll see what happens then. Anyone else have that problem?

So, the weather is supposed to be nasty outside this weekend. Highs in the 40s and rainy. About as disgusting as you can get. So my plan is to get in a run both Saturday and Sunday on the treadmill since I have no plans to leave the house. I know you’re only supposed to do 3x a week on C25k, but my training time for this 5k is cut short, so I feel like I need to bump it up a notch to get further in the program. So what is my race goal? I just want to A) jog the whole time… no walking! and B) come in under 40 minutes. I know to some people that sounds like a joke. 40 minutes? For a 5k? But I’ll be happy with that!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. chrissy permalink
    March 25, 2011 9:17 am

    i did it in 40 mins last year and i was proud of myself :)of course one of the girls i came with did it in 26 mins and i was like damn!

    • March 27, 2011 9:04 pm

      Haha… yeah, that is NEVER gonna happen! Wowzers. I did my last two in 43 minutes… one was very hilly though and one was H-O-T. So I’m thinking a flat course on a pretty April day should be optimal and taking 3 minutes off shouldn’t be too difficult (I hope!)

Leave a Reply

